Property tax bills were to be mailed this week
This year's county property tax bills were to be mailed this week by the Morgan County Sheriff's Department.
The bills are based on the real estate, personal property and business inventory reported on the assessment forms returned by property owners last summer.
Taxes are calculated by using last year's property values and the tax rates set this spring by the Morgan County School Board, the Morgan County Commissioners, the West Virginia Legislature, and the Bath and Paw Paw town councils.
The bills also include the county's fire and ambulance fees.
The taxable assessment of real estate is 60% of its appraised market value. Vehicle assessments are 60% of Blue Book values.
Questions about property assessments should be directed to the Morgan County Assessor's Office at 258-8570.
Property owners who do not receive a
tax bill, or who have questions about the actual bill, should contact the Morgan County Sheriff's Department at 258-8562.
Some real estate tax bills may show a mineral assessment.
Property owners may send written questions about mineral ownership to the West Virginia Department of Tax & Revenue, Property Tax Division, Special Properties Section, P. O. Box 372, Charleston, WV 25322.
Dog fees due
Dog tag fees are due at the Assessor's Office.
The dog fee is $3-per-dog in unincorporated Morgan County, and $6-per-dog in the towns of Bath and Paw Paw.
This year's property asssessment forms were mailed in early July to those who returned one last year.
The forms must be returned to the Assessor's Office by October 1. The information will be used for next summer's tax bills.
Applications for farmland tax classification next year are due at the Assessor's Office by September 4.
Farm classification significantly reduces the amount of property tax due on land that is used for agriculture.
Older county residents may apply for a Homestead Exemption from property taxes on the first $20,000 of their home's assessed value.
Senior citizens and disabled persons can save more than $200 on the tax bills for their residences.
To qualify for the Homestead Exemption on next year's tax bill, a homeowner must be at least 65 years old by July 1, 2008, or be disabled, and must have lived in West Virginia since at least July 1, 2006.
Application for the Homestead Exemption must be made to the Assessor's Office by December 3.